Filing deadline Sept. 19 for City Council, Mayor, School Board
By Cheryl Parker

A reminder to anyone considering a run for the Jesup City Council, Jesup Mayor, or the Jesup Community School District School Board: The deadline to submit nomination paperwork is quickly approaching.

The affidavit of candidacy and the nomination petition must be returned to the proper authority by Thursday, September 19 at 5:00 pm. While there are a variety of ways to get these forms, the law is very strict about when and where they must be returned.

For City Council and Mayor, the nomination petition requires ten signatures. That, and the affidavit of candidacy, must be returned to Buchanan County Elections Commissioner Cindy Gosse at the Buchanan County Courthouse, 210 Fifth Avenue NE, Independence, Iowa. Paperwork cannot be returned to Jesup City Hall. Those elected to the 4-year council term and the 2-year mayoral term begin their service January 1, 2020.

For the Jesup School Board, the nomination petition requires 33 signatures. That and the affidavit of candidacy must be returned to board secretary Sheila Tharp at the school, 531 Prospect Street, Jesup, Iowa. School board papers will not be accepted at the courthouse. Those school board members elected in November will begin their service at the first school board meeting following the election.

As of press time, Russell Solomon and Dawn Vogel have returned paperwork to run for re-election to the city council. They are two of the three council persons whose terms expire December 31, 2019. The Jesup mayor’s term also expires December 31, 2019. Incumbent Mayor Larry Thompson has returned paperwork to run again for that position.

Nick Donlea and James Masteller have completed and returned paperwork to run for school board. There are a total of four vacancies to be filled.

Because the paperwork can be downloaded from the Internet, there is no way to know how many other citizens are out there seeking signatures for these races.

With the change in consolidating the city elections and school board elections, there have been some changes in polling locations. For city elections, Buchanan County residents within Jesup city limits will vote at First Presbyterian Church. Black Hawk County residents within Jesup city limits will vote in Gilbertville.

For school board elections, Buchanan County residents within the school district will vote at the Presbyterian Church, with the exception of residents in Perry and Westburg Townships, who will vote at the Methodist Church.

School district residents in Black Hawk County will be voting at the polling place for their township. Barclay Township votes in Dunkerton, Spring Creek Township votes in LaPorte City, Poyner Township votes in Raymond, and Fox Township votes in Gilbertville.

Election commissioners in Black Hawk County and Buchanan County have advised all voters should be receiving a postcard with information about their polling place prior to election day.

Election day is Tuesday, November 5. Polls will be open from 7 am to 8 pm.
Back to Stories
Other News Stories In the Jesup Citizen Herald Newspaper
  • Fire Association plans to replace grass trucks
  • Jesup City Council Meeting • May 18, 2020
  • Dollars for Scholars scholarships awarded to the Jesup Class of 2020
  • Lake retiring from BCEDC
  • Sec. of State partners with National Guard to keep voters safe
  • In The Sky During June
  • Chatting with a Tree
  • Special Jesup High School graduation section
  • Dale and Nancy Kies' 50th anniversary
  • Park facilities open – with restrictions
You're missing dozens of exciting and informative stories and photos if you're not reading the complete print edition of the Jesup Citizen Herald. Subscribe now!